Ew! It’s a review! Lockie Leonard Scumbuster

Recently my class has been reading Lockie Leonard Scumbuster. It is a play that was adapted from the novel by Tim Winton.

The book is about Lockie, who is a surfer and his best friend, Geoff aka Egg, who is a metal head. One day, Lockie goes surfing and he realized that the water is heavily polluted and he needed to do something about it. Meanwhile, while this is happening, Lockie is still suffering from heartbreak. His ex girlfriend Vicki Streeton, broke up with him and he is slowly getting over it. But then, he meets a girl named Dot. She was a better surfer than him! He thinks that he is in love with her, but there is one problem. She is still in primary school!

Personally, I didn’t really enjoy the play. It was very boring and confusing. The plot and idea of the play was alright but the way it was written was not appealing to me. I didn’t like the Australian slang and some lines and paragraphs were quite cringe-worthy. For example:

‘I was having a perv at a Tracks mag when-whoosh-out comes fifty liters of snot and ocean all over the magazine rack.’

‘Geez, mate, you’ve got two toes joined together-on each foot!’

These couple of lines kind of made me disgusted.

Overall, I really didn’t enjoy the book, but as I stated before this is my personal opinion. Other people might enjoy and recommend it but I certainly wouldn’t. It was quite cliché. The whole, boy likes a younger girl or best friend goes after the ex. But, it was a creative way to show that some teenagers care about pollution. If I had to rate it I would probably give it 2/10

5 thoughts on “Ew! It’s a review! Lockie Leonard Scumbuster

  1. I really enjoyed your review, starting with your creative title. Your use of a couple of quotes to show why the play didn’t really appeal to you was effective, as well. Try to keep tense consistent – Lockie goes surfing and he realised – is confusing tenses with ‘goes’ and ‘realised’ – and try to use Australian spelling, even when the autocorrect tells you it’s wrong (it’s realised, not realized). Finally, it’s a play, so call it a play, not a book. Also, should be cliched. A strong personal voice and perspective came through in this review. Well done.

Leave a Reply. We'd love to hear from you.